This morning, why not start the week off by trying something different. We’re listening to “Le Carnaval des Animaux,” or “The Carnival of the Animals” by French composer Camille Saint-Saëns. This piece, composed in 1886 but not publicly performed until after his death in 1922, portrays a number of animals through a variety of instrumental techniques. Because Saint-Saëns wanted to maintain his image as a serious composer, he insisted its public performance be delayed until after his death. The following are the movements of the piece, which you can listen to in the two videos below:

I. Introduction et marche royale du lion (Introduction and Royal March of the Lion)
II. Poules et coqs (Hens and Roosters)
III. Hemiones (animaux veloces) (Wild Asses)
IV. Tortues (Tortoises)
V. L’elephant (The Elephant)
VI. Kangourous (Kangaroos)
VII. Aquarium (The Aquarium)
VIII. Personnages a longues oreilles (Persons with long ears)
IX. Le coucou au fond des bois (The Cuckoo in the Depth of the Woods)
X. Voliere (The Aviary)
XI. Pianistes (Pianists)
XII. Fossiles (Fossils)
XIII. Le cygne (The Swan)
XIV. Finale (Finale)